2018 Isle Of Man TT concludes with new records

Editor@Throttle|Updated: June 12, 2018 16:25

2018 seemed to be an eventful year in the Isle Of Man TT. The racing event completed 100 years this year since it began in 1907.


It also witnessed records being broken in every category of the race. Dean Harrison set a time of 1 hour 11 minutes and 28 seconds in the Supersport class on his Kawasaki ZX-6R. In the Lightweight TT, Michael Dunlop broke the record with 1 hour 15 minutes 5 seconds on the Paton S1-R. The previous TT Zero record was broken by Michael Rutter with a time of 18 minutes and 34 seconds.


Peter Hickmann broke two records; in the Senior TT class with a time of 1 hour 43 minutes 8 seconds and Superstock class with 1 hour 8 minutes 49 seconds. He also set the fastest lap record during the Senior TT with a speed of 135.452mph (217.9 kmph) on his BMW S1000RR. Legendary IOM TT rider, Michael Dunlop claimed three wins this year in the Superbike, Supersport 1 and Lightweight class. With 18 titles the rider is now third on the list of riders with most wins just behind his uncle Joey Dunlop (26 wins) and John McGuinness (23 wins).


The 60.7km long race is conducted on the island of Manx between Great Britain and Ireland. It is considered the most dangerous racing event in the world. This year, two riders, Dan Kneen and Adam Lyon lost their lives taking the death toll to 252 since 1911. 


Article Source : BikeWale