2018 MotoGP : Round 7/19 Results

Editor@Throttle|Updated: June 18, 2018 9:19

Ducati's Jorge Lorenzo powered from pole to claim victory in a second straight race at the MotoGP Grand Prix of Catalunya on Sunday, ahead of championship leader Marc Marquez and Valentino Rossi. The three-time world MotoGP champion won at Mugello last time out in his first win for Ducati, and celebrated his win at Montmelo wildly after a race in which half the competitors failed to finish.


After seven of the season’s 19 races, Lorenzo stands seventh in the overall standings on 66 points, with Marquez atop the pile on 115, followed by Rossi (88) and Maverick Vinales (77).


Lorenzo, who will quit Ducati to join up with Marquez at Honda next season, finished 4.479 seconds ahead of Marquez, with Rossi at almost 7 seconds. Marquez and Suzuki’s Italian rider Andrea Iannone briefly passed Lorenzo before the latter regained the lead and led through to the finish line. “In claiming a second straight victory it’s incredible to see how things can change so quickly,” Lorenzo said. His teammate Andrea Dovizioso crashed after ten laps, a big blow for last season’s runner-up who has failed to finish three of his last four races.


Marquez was left satisfied with his showing. “It was tough to beat the Ducatis here but the most important thing is that we’ve increased our lead in the championship,” he said.

Earlier in the day, French youngster Fabio Quartararo of Speed Up won the Moto2 for his first ever Grand Prix victory. The 19-year-old started from pole position and beat Portugal’s KTM rider Miguel Oliveira by 2.492 seconds, with Spaniard Alex Marquez of Kalex third at 3.485 second.



Race Results


1spain Jorge Lorenzo
2spain Marc Marquez
3italy Valentino Rossi
4united_kingdom Cal Crutchlow
5spain Dani Pedrosa
6spain Maverick Viñales
7france Johann Zarco
8italy Danilo Petrucci
9spain Alvaro Bautista
10italy Andrea Iannone


Overall Standings :


1. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 

2. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha)

3. Maverick Vinales (ESP/Yamaha)

4. Johann Zarco (FRA/Yamaha Tech3)

5. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati Pramac) 

6. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/LCR Honda) 

7. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Ducati)

8. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati)

9. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Suzuki)

10. Jack Miller (AUS/Ducati Pramac) 


Article Source : MotorSports