2019 Dakar Rally : Stage 1 Results

Editor@Throttle|Updated: January 8, 2019 12:17

Honda rider Joan Barreda kicked off the 2019 Dakar Rally with a stage win, setting the fastest time within the Lima-Pisco route. His closest challenger throughout the day was Husqvarna's Pablo Quintanilla, the Chilean spending the whole stage in second and ending up 1m34s adrift. Ricky Brabec completed a strong day for Honda as the American took third, outpacing the top Yamaha of Adrien van Beveren by just three seconds.


KTM, unbeaten in the class since 2001, had a relatively low-key start to the event as the brand's three top riders occupy the positions between fifth and seventh in the order of Sam Sunderland, Toby Price and reigning champion Matthias Walkner. CS Santosh took the 20th position after a brilliant start. Aravind KP completed the day in 70th spot.


The first stage saw the riders complete a 247 km stretch including 84 km of the warm stage from Lima to Pesco. The second stage will see riders traverse the Pesco - San Juan De Marcona stretch, covering the distance of 211 kms.


Article Source : MotorSport