Dakar Rally 2017: Aravind KP to race under the banner of Sherco TVS

admin@throttle|Updated: August 11, 2016 10:46
aravind kp

TVS made history by being the first Indian manufacturer to participate in the Dakar Rally by partnering with French firm Sherco in 2015. They have announced their new line up for the 39th Dakar Rally due to take place in January 2017. With 15 National Championships in dirt tracks, rallies and Motocross events, Aravind KP teams up with TVS Racing as a part of their lineup for the Dakar Rally in 2017.


The 30 year old Indian has been associated with TVS for almost a decade, being with the Indian marquee since 2006. He created history by being the first Indian to win an International Motocross championship in Sri Lanka, defeating CS Santosh in 2011. He has an impressive track record, having won the National Supercross championship in two classes and various other Regional and National level championships. Aravind’s career was hampered by a severe injury which he had in practice in 2012, breaking his hip bone in the process. He had to undergo a bone reconstruction surgery and a tough recuperation session. He won the Raid-de-Himalayas 2015 in the extreme category, finishing second to CS Santosh in 2016.


Aravind shall undergo special training for the Dakar Rally, which includes navigation and many other factors which play a major role in the grueling 9000 kms rally. He will also be participating in the Rally of Morocco in order to be physically and psychologically fit for the main event.


The South American rally event covers approximately 9000 kms across Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina. The Rally will be flagged off in Paraguay’s capital city of Asuncion, which then travels towards Bolivia’s La Paz in the north before returning southwards to Argentina’s Buenos Aires where the finish line lies.


Throttle wishes Aravind KP the best for his preparations and efforts in the future.