Petrol pumps may remain shut on Sundays from May 14, 2017

Editor@Throttle|Updated: April 12, 2017 8:36

Petrol pumps are likely to remain shut every Sundays from May 14, 2017. Further, the gas stations will operate for only nine hours - from 9 am to 6 pm - everyday. However, emergency services like ambulances may be spared of this petrol pump shut down.


The people will get the first taste of fuel rationing on May 10, the day petrol dealers' association will observe "No Purchase Day". According to reports, the petrol pump dealers across the country have threatened to keep their petrol pumps closed on Sundays to press for their demands.  The Consortium of Indian Petroleum Dealers (CIPD) is cut up with the oil marketing companies for not having honoured their written commitment of giving dealer margins in line with Apurva Chandra committee report.


The impact of the "No Purchase Day" of petrol and diesel may not be felt in most parts of the country because for the moment All India Petroleum Dealers' Association (AIPDA) has distanced itself from the decision of CIPD. While petrol dealers in Delhi and 20 other states are part of AIPDA, CIPD has its presence in only four states - Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Maharashtra.


Article source : IndiaToday