Super Cross Around the World

admin@throttle|Updated: August 9, 2016 16:28

Supercross has gained huge popularity and it has a rapidly growing fan base since its inception in 1972. It is the most popular motorsport in the USA after NASCAR. Supercross races and events are heavily advertised and televised motorsports events held within major cities.This motorsport, a brainchild of racing promoter Mike Goodwin and Terry Tiernan, president of the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) at the time, has been widely appreciated across the globe by participants, sponsorships as well as spectators. Along with the USA, countries such as India, Australia and China are also conducting supercross races and events on a national level.
While the principle governing body of supercross races and events across the globe is Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM, Federation of International Motorcycling), the American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) governs the supercross championship in the USA. The American Motorcyclist Association is an American nonprofit organization of more than 300,000 motorcyclists and it governs motorcycling activities and campaigns for motorcyclists’ legal rights. Its mission statement is ‘to promote the motorcycling lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling’ AMA hosts annually, the Monster Energy AMA Supercross An FIM World Championship.
The AMA Supercross championship is a 17 round championship which runs from December to mid-May with 14 major stadia and one permanent racing circuit (in a temporary stadium setup) all over North America. It is the echelon of off-road motorcycling in the world. The American Motorcyclist Association awards three Supercross Championship Champs each year. The 250cc Champion has always been generally considered to be the most prestigious. A total of 38 riders compete across four classes viz. 450SX, 250SX East, 250SX West and KTM Junior.
The first AMA Supercross champion dates way back to 1974 with just two classes, 250cc 2-stroke and a 500cc race which were won by Pierre Karsmakers and Gary Semics respectively. However, since the 1976 series, the championship has been divided into three classes and a separate KTM Junior Championship for racers upto the age of 15 years. Ryan Villopoto has been the 250cc champion from 2011-2014 followed by Ryan Dungey who won in 2010.